ATHENS, Ga. — Georgia senior tailback Nick Chubb has been included in the Maxwell Award semifinalist group and junior inside linebacker Roquan Smith is part of the Chuck Bednarik Award semifinalists, according to an announcement on Monday.

Chubb is one of four players from the Southeastern Conference included on the 18-man list for the Maxwell, which is given to the collegiate player of the year.  Smith is one of three players from the league on the 18-main list for the Bednarik, which is given to the country’s outstanding defensive player of the year.

Semifinalist voting for both of the awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Tuesday, October 31 and will close on November 19.  Three finalists for each award will be announced on Nov. 20 and a second round of voting will take place at that time.  The winners of the 81st Maxwell Award and the 23rd Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show, which will be broadcasted live on ESPN on December 7.

Chubb, a native of Cedartown, Ga., has carried the ball 120 times for 765 yards (6.4 avg.) and scored a team-leading nine touchdowns for the second-ranked Bulldogs.  Averaging 95.6 yards per contest, Chubb has helped pushed Georgia into the second spot in the SEC in both Scoring Offense (38.1 points/game) and Rushing Offense (284.0 yards/game).  For his career, Chubb ranks fifth on the SEC’s all-time list with 4,189 yards.

Smith, a native of Montezuma, Ga., is leading the 8-0 Bulldogs with 61 tackles, including 1.5 tackles for loss and a sack, from his inside linebacker spot.  An Associated Press, Sporting News and ESPN Midseason All-American, Smith has also forced a fumble and anchored a unit that ranks third nationally in Scoring Defense (11.9 points/game) and Total Defense (252.1 yards/game).

The second-ranked Bulldogs (8-0, 5-0 SEC) play host to South Carolina (6-2, 4-2) on Saturday in Sanford Stadium at 3:30 p.m.  CBS will televise the matchup.