Georgia Sports Communications

December 8, 2022



ATHENS, Ga. — The Georgia football has four players named to the Freshman All-Southeastern Conference Team, according to a league announcement Thursday.


Defensive lineman Mykel Williams, linebacker Jalon Walker, safety Malaki Starks and punter Brett Thorson were voted onto the team.  This marks the third year in a row that the Bulldogs have had at least three players named to the Freshman All-SEC squad.


In addition, head coach Kirby Smart was named the Coach of the Year and senior place-kicker Jack Podlesny was named the Special Teams Player of the Year on Wednesday.


On Tuesday, sophomore tight end Brock Bowers, junior offensive tackle Warren McClendon, junior defensive lineman Jalen Carter, senior safety Christopher Smith and Podlesny (PK, kickoff specialist) were all named to the All-SEC First Team.


The Second Team selections included senior quarterback Stetson Bennett, redshirt sophomore receiver Ladd McConkey, junior tight end Darnell Washington, redshirt sophomore Sedrick Van Pran, junior defensive lineman Nazir Stackhouse, redshirt sophomore defensive back Kelee Ringo and junior long snapper William Mote.


The top-seeded Bulldogs (13-0, 8-0 SEC) take on No. 4 Ohio State (11-1, 8-1 Big 10) in the College Football Playoff Semifinal Chick-Fil-A Peach Bowl in Atlanta on Dec. 31.  ESPN will televise the matchup.