Georgia Sports Communications

January 17, 2022



ATHENS, Ga. — Bulldog true freshman tight end Brock Bowers has won the fourth annual Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) Freshman of the Year Award.


Bowers, a native of Napa, Calif., who also garnered Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year honors, becomes the first Bulldog to garner the FWAA honor as well as the first tight end to win the award.  He is the second player from the Southeastern Conference to earn the accolade after Alabama’s Will Anderson was the 2020 winner.  Clemson’s Trevor Lawrence and Memphis’ Kenneth Gainwell have also won the FWAA Freshman of the Year Award since its inception in 2018.


Bowers was a USA Today, ESPN and The Athletic First Team All-American and was the SEC Freshman of the Year in his opening year with the Bulldogs.  He finished with a team-best 56 catches for 882 yards and 14 total touchdowns (13 receiving, one rushing).  Bowers owns school records in receptions, yards and receiving touchdowns for a tight end.  In fact, the Mackey Award semifinalist owns the overall UGA record for touchdown catches with his 13 during the Bulldogs’ run to this past season’s national championship.


In the College Football Playoff National Championship in Indianapolis, Bowers snagged a 15-yard touchdown pass from Stetson Bennett to put Georgia up 26-18 late in the final period as the Bulldogs clinched their first national title in 41 years.